Thailand resumes Visa on Arrival (VOA) in 2021

In order to prevent and control the spread of the COVID-19 epidemic, the Thai government have temporarily suspended Visa on Arrival for all countries since 13 March 2020. However, Thailand Visa on Arrival for travelers from selected countries resumed on 1 October 2021. The move comes as Thailand continues to reopen country to the foreign travelers.

International travelers entering Thailand need to obtain a visa according to the purpose of their visit. However, nationals of some countries can obtain Visa on Arrival for the purpose of tourism and stay in Thailand for up to 15 days.

List of countries entitled to apply for Visa on Arrival

As of 1 October 2021, you can apply for a Visa on Arrival, which allows you to stay for up to 15 days when entering Thailand by air or land at major entry points, if you are a citizen of one of the following countries or territories:

  1. Bulgaria
  2. Bhutan
  3. China
  4. Cyprus
  5. Ethiopia
  6. Fiji
  7. Georgia
  8. India
  9. Kazakhstan
  10. Malta
  11. Mexico
  12. Nauru
  13. Papua New Guinea
  14. Romania
  15. Saudi Arabia
  16. Taiwan
  17. Uzbekistan
  18. Vanuatu

Other Required Document for entering Thailand

Apart from Visa on Arrival, all non-Thai nationals travelling to Thailand during COVID-19 are still required to present documents as follows:

Thailand Pass

Quarantine Hotel booking or Phuket SHA Extra Plus Hotel reservation confirmation. Accommodation must be prepaid.

Health insurance covering COVID-19 treatment in Thailand for minimum of 20,000 USD throughout the entire duration of stay.

COVID-19-Free Health Certificate with a laboratory test result by an RT-PCR method indicating that COVID-19 is not detected, issued no more than 72 hours before travel date. (not required from 1 April 2022)