Thailand Visa Exemption for Tourists during Covid-19

Thai government resumed Tourist Visa Exemption for 56 countries, with an increase in the allowed period of stay from 30 to 45 days in order to attract foreign tourists. However, it is still necessary to apply for a Thailand Certificate of Entry (COE) and required to undergo quarantine upon arrival together with relevant quarantine measures.

Update! Starting from 1 October 2021, the allowed period of stay under Thailand Visa Exemption has been decreased back to 30 days

Generally, a foreign citizen who wishes to enter Thailand is required to obtain a visa from a Royal Thai Embassy or Royal Thai Consulate-General. However, Thailand is loosening travel restrictions for tourists of certain countries that do not require a visa before entry and can stay in Thailand for the specific period if they meet visa exemption requirements.

1. Tourist Visa Exemption Scheme

The nationals of the countries that are exempted from visa requirements when entering Thailand for tourism purposes are normally permitted to stay in Thailand for a period not exceeding 30 days.

Tourist Visa Exemption scheme only applies to foreigners holding passports issued by the countries listed below. 

  1. Andorra
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Bahrain
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil*
  7. Brunei Darussalam
  8. Canada
  9. Czech Republic
  10. Denmark
  11. Estonia
  12. Finland
  13. France
  14. Germany
  15. Greece
  16. Hong Kong**
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Indonesia
  20. Ireland
  21. Israel
  22. Italy
  23. Japan
  24. Korea (ROK)
  25. Kuwait
  26. Latvia
  27. Liechtenstein
  28. Lithuania
  29. Luxembourg
  30. Malaysia
  31. Maldives
  32. Mauritius
  33. Monaco
  34. The Netherlands
  35. New Zealand
  36. Norway
  37. Oman
  38. Peru*
  39. Philippines
  40. Poland
  41. Portugal
  42. Qatar
  43. San Marino
  44. Singapore
  45. Slovak
  46. Slovenia
  47. Spain
  48. South Africa
  49. Sweden
  50. Switzerland
  51. Turkey
  52. Ukraine
  53. United Arab Emirates
  54. United Kingdom
  55. United States of America
  56. Vietnam**

2. Bilateral Agreements

The countries that hold bilateral agreements with Thailand on the exemption of visa requirements and permitted to stay in Thailand for a period of not exceeding 30 or 90 days on each visit.


1. Hong Kong
2. Laos
3. Macau
4. Mongolia
5. Russia
6. Vietnam


1. Argentina
2. Brazil
3. Chile
4. Peru

Countries and Territories entitled for Visa Exemption to Thailand

Visa Exemption Scheme 15 DEC 2020

Period of Stay

Generally, Visa Exemption lets you stay in Thailand for a period not exceeding 30 days on each visit.

According to the announcement on the website of Thai Embassy in Tokyo, the duration of stay will be extend from 30 to 45 days for visits between 22 December 2020 - 30 September 2021. An additional 15 days should compensate the mandatory quarantine for those entering Thailand. This 45 day tourist visa exemption will be valid for visitors from 56 countries that qualify for a 30 day visa exemption.

UPDATE! Starting from 1 October 2021, the allowed period of stay under Thailand Visa Exemption has been decreased back to 30 days

Currently, a limited number of foreign tourists are allowed to enter Thailand. This change is expected to increase the number of international tourists visiting Thailand from 10,000 to 20,000 per month and improve the economy that has been hit by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Visa Exemption Conditions during Covid-19

Travelers under Tourist Visa Exemption scheme are still required to obtain the Certificate of Entry (COE) in order to enter Thailand.

Upon arrival into Thailand, you also will be subject to quarantine at your own expenses so booking a quarantine hotel is also necessary. You can check for more information about the quarantine process, including the constantly updated lists of approved quarantine hotels here:

Alternative State Quarantine (ASQ) Hotels (in Bangkok)

Alternative Local Quarantine (ALQ) Hotels (out of Bangkok)

Foreigners entering Thailand under the Tourist Visa Exemption scheme must provide proof of adequate finances for the duration of stay in Thailand at the port of entry (i.e. traveler’s cheque or cash equivalent to 10,000 THB per person or 20,000 THB per family).

Foreigners entering Thailand by any means under the Tourist Visa Exemption scheme are required at the port of entry to have proof of planned travel (confirmed air, train, bus or boat tickets) to leave Thailand within 30 days of the arrival date. The immigration officer has the right to deny the entry if you fail to show an exit ticket. Otherwise, a tourist visa must be obtained before entering Thailand.

Foreigners entering Thailand through land / sea boarder checkpoints under visa exemption scheme are permitted to enter the country only twice in a calendar year, except nationals of Malaysia, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia and Singapore who may enter Thailand through such checkpoints more than twice in a calendar year.

As the quarantine remains in place, the issuance of Thailand Visa on Arrival (VOA) is still suspended.

For newest updates on Thailand entry requirements like our Facebook page!