Myanmar eVisa – Fees, Required Documents, Entry Points

Myanmar eVisa service gives an opportunity to the citizens of 100 countries to apply for Myanmar visa online without the need of visiting Myanmar embassy or consulate. Myanmar eVisa is a type of Myanmar Visa that is valid for 90 days and lets you stay in the country for 28 days from the day of your arrival in Myanmar. As Myanmar visa exemption is only available for 8 countries in Southeast Asia, using Myanmar eVisa is the best choice.

Myanmar eVisa

Myanmar eVisa Website

The official website of Myanmar eVisa owned by Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population of Myanmar can be found here: Official Myanmar eVisa Website.

Use only the official website of Myanmar eVisa, otherwise you risk to get scammed!

Required Documents for Myanmar eVisa

You will need the following documents when applying for Myanmar eVisa:

  1. Passport - your passport must be valid for at least 6 months from the day of your arrival in Myanmar and must be issued by one of the eligible countries listed below.
  2. Digital document photo - Myanmar eVisa photo requirements are as follows: color photo not older than 3 months and the size of Myanmar eVisa photo should be 4.6 cm X 3.8 cm (aspect ratio is important!).
  3. Credit or Debit card for Myanmar eVisa fee payment - Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB cards are accepted (make sure to have at least 50 USD in card balance).
  4. Address in Myanmar – you need to provide an address of a registered hotel, motel, inn, guest house or resort as tourists are allowed to stay only in one of them during the stay in Myanmar.

The documents mentioned above are required for getting Myanmar eVisa approval letter. At the time of your arrival in Myanmar you must posses a valid eVisa approval letter and also meet the following entry requirements:

  1. Have a passport with at least 6 months validity.
  2. Have sufficient funds for the period of stay in Myanmar.
  3. Have confirmed onward / return air ticket.

Detailed information about Myanmar eVisa application can be found here: Myanmar Visa Online Application - Getting Myanmar eVisa.

Myanmar eVisa Fees

Myanmar eVisa fees in 2018 are as follows:

  • Tourist Visa - 50 USD
  • Tourist Visa (Express Service) - 56 USD
  • Business Visa – 70 USD

Only online payments are accepted for paying Myanmar eVisa fee.

Myanmar eVisa fee is non-refundable in any case.

Myanmar eVisa Validity

Myanmar eVisa approval letter is valid for 90 days from its issuance date and this period of time can’t be extended. Once your Myanmar eVisa approval letter expires, you need to apply once again.

Myanmar eVisa is valid for a single entry only and lets you stay in the country for up to 28 days from the day of your arrival in Myanmar. Business Visa lets you stay in Myanmar for up to 70 days.

Myanmar eVisa Processing Time

Myanmar eVisa processing time is up to 3 working days for normal Tourist Visa. Don’t forget to take into consideration Myanmar national holidays and Myanmar time zone to make sure if you can get your Myanmar eVisa on time.

Luckily there’s Myanmar eVisa Express Service available. Just choose Tourist Visa Express Service which costs you 6 USD extra and you will get your Myanmar eVisa in 24 hours from the moment of your eVisa application acknowledgement e-mail is sent (you will get one as soon as your application is submitted and online payment is confirmed).

Myanmar eVisa Entry Points

Currently Myanmar eVisa lets you enter the country via 3 international airports and 5 land border crossings.

International airports where Myanmar eVisa is valid are as follows:

  1. Yangon International Airport (RGN)
  2. Mandalay International Airport (MDL)
  3. Nay Pyi Taw International Airport (NYT)

Land border crossings where Myanmar eVisa is valid are as follows:

  1. Tachileik Land Border Checkpoint (from Mae Sai in Thailand)
  2. Myawaddy Land Border Checkpoint (from Mae Sot in Thailand)
  3. Kawthaung Land Border Checkpoint (from Ranong in Thailand)
  4. Tamu Land Border Checkpoint (from Moreh in India)
  5. Rih Khaw Dar Land Border Checkpoint (from Zokhawthar in India)

If you are planning to visit Myanmar via cruise, you can’t use Myanmar eVisa at seaport!

More eligible ports of entry are expected to be included in the list in the near future.

Countries Eligible for Myanmar eVisa

European Countries Eligible for eVisa

  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

Asian Countries Eligible for eVisa

  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei *
  • Cambodia *
  • China
  • India
  • Indonesia *
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea, DP
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos *
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines *
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore *
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand *
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam *

American Countries Eligible for eVisa

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Guatemala
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

African Countries Eligible for eVisa

  • Algeria
  • Cameroon
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Kenya
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • South Africa
  • Uganda

Pacific Countries Eligible for eVisa

  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • New Zealand

* Passport holders of these countries can get Myanmar visa exemption: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam - 14 days, Singapore - 30 days.


Detailed information about Myanmar eVisa application can be found here: Myanmar Visa Online Application - Getting Myanmar eVisa.